Loyalty

Loyalty is something that’s been on my mind a lot lately. We can be loyal in many ways: to people, causes, and even brands.  By nature, I’d say I’m a pretty loyal person and usually this loyalty works out pretty well for me.  With that, I will admit, I am pretty selective with who and what I’m loyal to.

Recently though, I’ve been noticing more and more situations where my loyalty isn’t benefiting me, but rather hindering me.  Really though, who am I kidding? I’ve known this was going on for awhile, but I’ve been in a semi state of denial.  You know that feeling when it’s easier to keep going along, doing what you’ve been doing than making a change, or standing up for yourself.  I’ve struggled a lot with this realization, because typically we start with good reasons for being loyal to something. Usually, something has happened to get you emotionally invested, and tied in a way to that person, place, or thing.   Maybe it’s a store with great loyalty perks, excellent customer service or even a friend who was there for you during a rough time…  but  people, products, and companies change.  I’m a firm believer that change is a part of evolution, and we as people are constantly evolving.  Change doesn’t have to be a bad thing, but it’s true sometimes changes are for the worse.

I’ve decided this spring, I’m going to shake things up. I’m sick of letting my emotions (particularly guilt) keep me tied and loyal to certain  people, places, and things.  It’s time for a fresh start, new beginnings, and a clean slate.

Steph

 

2 thoughts on “Loyalty

  1. Yay! Good for you! I had this exact same realization last week. I thought to myself I couldn’t let others dictate how I feel. If they choose not to include me, then I am not going to let it bother me anymore. I’m tired of trying to stay loyal to them to only have them care nothing for me. So I am standing a little taller and moving on! We can do this!

Leave a Reply

