Bridesmaid Style: Radiant Orchid

This post is part of a series I’m working on where I’ll be styling a bridesmaid look to correlate with each of the Top 10 Pantone Colors for Spring 2014. Our third look is for the 2014 Color of the Year, Radiant Orchid.

radiant orchid

To keep things interesting, today I challenged myself to style this look exclusively using the Nordstrom website! I think Nordstrom is often overlooked when it comes to styling a wedding but they really have some great stuff!

Dress: I selected a Strapless Ruched Chiffon Gown by JS Boutique in Fuchsia.  I’m not personally a strapless dress person, but they are a popular option for weddings.  I especially like this small/slight sweetheart neckline and the criss cross rouching on the bodice.  When it comes to wearing a long gown, my fabric of choice is chiffon because I think it’s a little forgiving, but also because it just flows nicely.

Clutch: I selected this Beaded Clutch by Moyna that I thought would compliment our fuchsia dress nicely. It has a small strap, that I’d probably tuck away inside the clutch, because I personally prefer to hold my clutches, but it’s a nice touch. I liked the dimensions that the beading on this clutch will bring to the outfit. Since this clutch by itself is a pretty statement piece, I decided to forgo a bracelet.

Accessories:  Because of the neckline and bodice, I wanted to go extremely simple with the necklace.  I selected this freshwater pearl on a gold chain by Dogeared.  I think the 18″ chain will ensure this necklace is just the right length.  I’m actually a huge fan of the Dogeared brand- I love, love, love that their products are handcrafted in the US.  I also love the stories/sentiments that accompany each of their pieces.  One of these necklaces is the perfect gift for your bridal party, and something they’ll be able to wear long after your wedding day has gone.  Since we went simple, and classic for the necklace I wanted to bring some action with the earrings.  I selected these Tanzanite Teardrop Chandelier Earrings by Anne Klein.  I’m a big fan of the purple color, and the gold accent will tie into the necklace, and the shoes/clutch I’ve selected.  I was worried they might be heavy, but I read a review commenting on how light they were.  These are one of those things I’d definitely want to see/hold before committing to.

Shoes:  I fell in love with these Kate Spade Charm Slingbacks I love the gold glitter, and the bows. These are the kind of shoes you want to make sure your photog snaps a few pictures of! At $325 they also aren’t cheap. If you’re looking for a cheaper alternative, these Nina Earleen Pumps are similar, but not nearly as amazing.

Hair: For the hair, since we’re bringing the drama with the earrings we needed a hairstyle that would allow us to show them off, an updo was the natural choice.  I really liked the Side Chignon that Lauren Conrad is sporting.  The link, actually is a tutorial to replicate the hairstyle, and she makes it sound surprisingly easy to replicate!

So there you have it, my third bridesmaid look of the series ! Don’t forget to check back over the next ten weeks as I style each of the following colors.

Top Pantone Colors Spring 2014

Dazzling Blue | Violet Tulip | Radiant Orchid | Celosia Orange | Freesia | Cayenne | Placid Blue | Paloma | Sand | Hemlock

Steph

3 thoughts on “Bridesmaid Style: Radiant Orchid

  1. Pingback: Bridesmaid Style: Celosia Orange | Steph's Spot

  2. Pingback: Bridesmaid Style: Violet Tulip | Steph's Spot

  3. Pingback: Bridesmaid Style: Dazzling Blue | Steph's Spot

Leave a Reply

