April Wedding Update

april I’m semi in denial that it’s already April, March really flew by!  We made some great progress on the wedding last month so I’m excited to share this update.

We signed contracts and put down deposits for our DJ and florist. I am seriously so excited to work with both of the vendors we selected.  One of the best parts about having a longer engagement is that we’ve been able to select the vendors of our choice for every single aspect of the wedding so far.

For the DJ we’re going with a recommendation one of my colleagues had, Magsino Mobile Entertainment.  Many of the other DJ’s we interviewed were actually DJ companies, so we were meeting with a salesperson, not the person who would actually DJ our wedding. With Magsino Mobile, we met Vince the owner, salesperson, and DJ he’s the one who will actually be there at our wedding- this was a huge plus for us! We both felt like he ‘got’ us and that it was a great match.

As for the florist, I decided on Bella Flora Lindsay was so sweet and patient when I met with her. I only interviewed four florists, but she really stood out. Florals were a hard decision for me, I like almost everything- except for lilies (both calla and regular) I love, love, love that when she sent over her proposal she included some sample pictures. This totally helped me to visualize what it will look like on the big day! I’ve got a few decisions to mull over for the next year or so, mainly how big of bridesmaid bouquets I want ( 6″ vs 8″) and other smaller details. I’m super excited about mixing up the centerpieces- half of the tables will have tall florals, and half will have lower submerged orchids. I love the varied heights, especially in our room with the tall vaulted ceilings.

Here’s what’s on my checklist for this month:

  • We ordered a handful of Save The Dates (STD’s) for our out of state families- I’m waiting to send out our ‘real’ STD’s’ until after we’ve had our engagement photos taken at the end of summer but we wanted to give our family members who live out of state a little bit of a heads up so they could plan and budget for it.
  • G and I need to get our wedding website up and running. This needs to happen before we mail out the family STD’s because I’m including the URL on the STD’s.
  • Narrow it down to 3-5 bridesmaid dresses that I want my BM’s to try on, then we’ll need to set a date for that. I’m hoping to make it a whole day thing and take the BM’s out to dinner afterwards so they can get to know each other a little better.

Steph

One thought on “April Wedding Update

  1. Looks like you’re on the right track! I love the idea of varied centerpieces; it sounds very elegant and visually interesting. How are you going to make your wedding website?

Leave a Reply

