Bridesmaid Style: Dazzling Blue

This is the first post of a series I’m starting {yay! exciting stuff!!}.  Every week, for the next 10 weeks I’ll be styling a bridesmaid look to correlate with each of the Top 10 Pantone Colors for Spring 2014.   Our first look is going to be Dazzling Blue!

the look

Dress: I wanted to go with a nice bold blue bridesmaid dress, and this Embroidered Lace Sheath Dress by Tadashi Shoji  fits the bill.  I love the V-neck, and the scalloped lace edges.  I also think that the waistband adds a nice touch to this dress, and who could forget that great blue lace!  At $239 it may be a bit more expensive than some of the other bridesmaid dresses, but the quality looks good and it has great reviews on the Nordstrom website.

Accessories:  Since we’re going bold for the dress, I wanted to stick with classic accessories for the bridesmaids. Immediately when I saw this pearl necklace and earring set , sold in the Otis B Jewelry shop on Etsy I knew it was just what the doctor ordered.  The necklace, will perfectly compliment the deep V-neck, and the earrings will be perfect with the loose hairstyle I’ve got planned.  Plus at $59.00 it’s a reasonable price for you to gift to your bridesmaids.  I like that you have the option to select gold or silver, and personally I think either could work because the metal is delicate enough.

Shoes:  With the bright blue dress, you’ll want to steer clear of black shoes- and I think it’s too matchy if you try and go the blue route so I opted for a nude, and somewhat conservative shoe.  I thought the Farrel pump by Adrianna Papell in sand compliments the look perfectly.  I like the satin material, and the pleating gives it visual interest without being too flashy.   Since it has a peep toe, it might be a great gift to treat your bridesmaids to a mani-pedi before the wedding to make sure they look polished, and picture ready!

Hair: For the hair, I wanted to go for a softer, more natural look.  This ‘little hair bow tutorial’  by The Small Things Blog is a perfect look!  From the front, it’s great, and will compliment the neckline of the dress perfectly, but I love the little something extra the ‘bow’ of hair in the back adds.  I’ve found that Kate’s tutorials are really easy to follow, and they’re a huge hit on Pinterest.  If all of your bridesmaids aren’t into the ‘bow’ you can acheieve the same look from the front, and just skip the bow in the back.

So there you have it, my first bridesmaid look of the series in Dazzling Blue! Don’t forget to check back over the next ten weeks as I style each of the following colors.

Top Pantone Colors Spring 2014

Dazzling Blue | Violet Tulip | Radiant Orchid | Celosia Orange | Freesia | Cayenne | Placid Blue | Paloma | Sand | Hemlock

Steph

4 thoughts on “Bridesmaid Style: Dazzling Blue

  1. Pingback: Bridesmaid Style: Dazzling Blue | crazyforus

  2. Pingback: Bridesmaid Style: Violet Tulip | Steph's Spot

  3. Pingback: Bridesmaid Style: Radiant Orchid | Steph's Spot

  4. Pingback: Bridesmaid Style: Celosia Orange | Steph's Spot

Leave a Reply

