2014 Blogger Challenge: week 4

The fourth post for our #2014BloggerChallenge is high end v. high street.  If you’re reading from the US you might be scratching your head like I did when I read the prompt, because I had never heard of the term ‘high street’. Thankfully, one of the UK bloggers filled me in-  a high street is the main commercial and retail street in a town.  This got my wheels spinning and I decided I wanted to do a splurge v. steal post.  I’m comparing a new deep conditioner { It’s a 10 Miracle Hair Mask } against one that I’ve used time and time again { Aussie Moist 3 Minute Miracle }.

splurge v steal

It’s a 10 Miracle Hair Mask :

  • The Price: $30.00 for 8oz ($3.75 an ounce)
  • The Claims: “Developed to respond to the demands of today’s color treated, heat styled, and otherwise processed hair, It’s a 10 Miracle Hair Mask is a simple-to-use, conditioning treatment made to enhance softness and smoothness. Flexible enough to be used as a daily conditioner and also intensive enough to be used as a periodic deep-conditioning treatment, the Miracle Hair Mask delivers unparalleled results for dry, damaged, or over-processed hair.”
  • My Experience: I couldn’t wait to try this one out, as I’d had good luck with the It’s a 10 products. I applied to my hair after shampooing and left it in for about 7 minutes as I finished my shower. I thought the product rinsed out easily, and my hair felt seriously silky soft when wet. Usually my hair is tangle city, but I noticed that it was less tangled when I got out of the shower, and combing it wasn’t really necessary. I hit my hair with a blow drier and headed to bed. I don’t wash every day, and I noticed that my hair was not ultra greasy the following day (a good thing! Sometimes deep conditioners make my hair so greasy and gross after just one day!) Overall, I was pleased with this product!

Aussie Moist 3 Minute Miracle: $2.97 for 8oz ($0.37 an ounce)

  • The Price: $2.97 for 8oz ($0.37 an ounce)
  • The Claims: “Aussie 3 Minute Deeep Conditioner is super deep conditioning for a seriously simple fix to dry, damaged hair. Aussie Moist Conditioner is your own little wonder for any wrongdoing done to your do. Aussie Miracle Conditioner is quick and easy for no-worries hair. Aussie Moist Conditioner is the Allure 2011 Best of Beauty Award Winner for the amazing job it does in repairing damaged hair. With a Touch of Natural Australian Aloe and Jojoba Seed Oil, this Aussie 3 Minute Deep Conditioner adds some roo to your do!”
  • My Experience: I mentioned that I keep coming back to this one, it’s inexpensive and I use it somewhat frequently on the ends of my hair in addition to my regular conditioner to keep things smooth and healthy. This time, to compare apples to apples, I applied to my whole head like I had done with  the It’s a 10 Miracle Mask. I rinsed, and dried like usual. I did notice my hair seemed greasy the next day (one of the reasons I don’t usually use this all over my whole head)

Verdict: Okay, obviously the Aussie 3 Minute Miracle is significantly cheaper than the It’s a 10 Miracle Mask. In this case, I prefer the It’s a 10 Miracle Hair Mask, even with the additional cost. Here’s why:

  • I used a lot less of the It’s a 10 Miracle Mask when applying to my hair – the product coated my hair better and felt thicker and richer when applying
  • The It’s a 10 Miracle Mask rinsed out of my hair easier, and left my hair feeling better  in the shower
  • My hair got greasy/gross faster with the Aussie 3 Minute Miracle I had to apply dry shampoo on day 2 before work. This was a huge turn off, for me at least
  • I also felt as though the results I saw were much more significant with the 10 Minute Miracle Hair mask, my hair looked and felt better. It was less tangly, and easier to manage.

You don’t always get what you pay for.. but in this instance my vote is to SPLURGE on the It’s a 10 Miracle Mask!

Steph

2 thoughts on “2014 Blogger Challenge: week 4

  1. What a great comparison! (Are you at all surprised I knew what “high street” meant already? #IshouldbeBritish) I struggle to find products that won’t make my hair greasy; I’ll definitely have to try the It’s a 10 Mask!

    • Next time I see you I’ll give you a little cup of it so you can try before you buy! Also, I went a little crazy at the Body Shop, have you ever been? I think I might like it more than Bath & Body for body care products!

Leave a Reply

