2014 Blogger Challenge: week 3

The topic for the third post of the #2014BloggerChallenge was all about books!  I started writing like three different posts and trashed them all because even though I love reading, I’ve been so bad about making time for it recently!  I have two half finished books that I can’t seem to find the time/drive to finish. I was going to skip this post (we were supposed to post it at the beginning of the month – sorry it’s late!) Anyways, I finally actually have something to write about on the topic.   Not sure if I blogged about it, but G bought me a Kindle Paperwhite for Christmas, and it’s been sitting collecting dust (not because I don’t love it, but because I’ve been so busy!)  So I decided, it had to come with me to Hawaii.  I also had been wanting to start this new book series that I think everyone under the sun has probably ready already.. but seeing as I live under a rock, I have not!

The Divergent Series

by Veronica Roth

The Divergent Series

Sunday night before we left, I quickly downloaded all three onto my Kindle and promised myself I’d make time to read on this trip! Luckily, I had plenty of time on our flights to read! {The Kindle may be my new favorite tech accessory- it was so nice to have multiple books with me without having to lug them around in my valuble carry on space– do you guys have one?}  I had Divergent finished before we got to Hawaii, I started on Insurgent but lost steam when the movie (Last Vegas) came on. Side note: I had been wanting to see it and G refused because he thought it was dumb, and it totally was but I still enjoyed it!

photo

What could be better than a Mai Tai, warm nuts, and a good book!?!

I read a bit more in Insurgent on the beach one day, but I was worried that I’d ruin my Kindle on the beach, with the sun, sand, and water.  On our second connection today from Houston to Chicago I made more solid progress, and I’m almost done with Insurgent.  I can’t wait for some free time to do a bit more reading; this reminded me I really do need to be better about making more time for it.

So maybe you’ve been living under a rock like me and you haven’t read the series, I really think you should give it a go for some light fictional reading.  Here’s my brief synopsis: The main character is Beatrice Prior (Tris) who lives in Chicago, only it’s not Chicago as we know it now.  The town is basically divided into five factions and each one places a high value on a specific virtue: Abnegation – selflessness, Amity- peacefulness, Candor – honesty, Dauntless- bravery, Erudite – Intelligence.  We come to meet Beatrice right before she’s getting ready to select which faction she will belong to, a process that all 16 year olds are forced to do.  She makes her decision, and begins life in her chosen faction.  There’s love, death, betrayal, confusion, turmoil.  All components of a book that sucks you in.   {I’m trying really, really, really, hard to be vague here because I don’t want to ruin it for anyone who may not have read.}  The next book Insurgent is a continuation of the story that’s been built in the first book, and so far it’s not disappointing.  It’s a perfect vacation, or summer read.  Not difficult, one of those books you can just read and get wrapped up in.   Once I finish all three I’ll have to check back in and share my thoughts.

Have you read the Divergent series? What did you think?

Steph

3 thoughts on “2014 Blogger Challenge: week 3

Leave a Reply

