Review: Ayres Body Butter & Bar Soap

About a week and a half ago I got home from a crappy day at work to a great surprise on my doorstep. I had won a contest through Birchbox’s Birchbloggers program & Ayres Beauty and they sent me three body butters, and one bar soap to try out. In the interest of full transparency, these items below were sent to my as a result of winning the program, and I did not purchase them myself. All of my notes below are my own unique opinions.

photo

Initial Impression:  I really liked the packaging {I totally judge books by their covers.. and products by their packages.. sorry I’m not sorry!} At first sniff I wasn’t so sure which scent I liked best because they were different.  You may be wondering what I mean by different.. I don’t mean it in a bad way, they’re just very unique.  I haven’t smelled any products really like them and it’s totally not a bad thing in fact it was refreshing.

I couldn’t wait to actually get them on my skin, one thing I’ve learned about scents is that what something smells like in the jar /bottle is not a real indicator of how it will smell on you. Naturally I lotioned up- a little on each arm and one leg.  I really liked the consistency of the product, and how it felt on my skin.  Keep in mind this is a body butter, so it’s meant to be rich, creamy, and in my opinion sit on the skin a bit before totally soaking in. It’s perfect for the wintertime, and this Chicago winter has been BRUTAL on my skin.

midnight_tango_body_butterMidnight Tango: Ayres describes this scent as ” a sensual combination of sweet vanilla and orange blossom” I didn’t really pick up on the vanilla, but I could slightly pick up on the orange notes.  I thought this scent was romantic, and it had just the right amount of scent, perfect for a date night!

In a totally official survey of my colleagues and friends, Midnight Tango was the scent that the majority of men said they liked most.

pampas_sunrise_body_butter

Pampas Sunrise: Ayres describes this scent as ” a revitalizing blend of citrus and herbs” this was my least favorite of the three scents, and I’m not sure why because I’m usually a citrus fan!  It wasn’t terrible, but if I was shopping it wouldn’t be the one I’d buy of the three.  In my mind, it was more of a daytime scent, something you put on in the morning to perk up (hello citrus!) Once again, it wasn’t overpowering, I liked the fragrance level, even if I wasn’t super crazy about the scent as a whole.

In my  survey of colleagues and friends, this one was not very popular with the men at all, but several of my female friends liked it.

patagonia_body_butterPatagonia: Ayres describes this scent as “a cool breeze of delicate jasmine and aromatic rosemary. Lavender bergamot, ylang-ylang, oakmoss, patchouli and fir complete the blend.”  At first sniff, this was the one I liked most, and as I continued to smell it (while reading the description) I was able to pick up on many of the notes listed.  This is a sweet, feminine scent and it was my favorite.  It reminded me of a beach vacation.   I thought the scent was a bit stronger on this one, but still not overpowering.  This one was by far my favorite of the three.  I know I’ll be using this scent all spring to refresh my skin!

In my survey of colleagues and friends, this was also the crowd favorite.  Even some of the guys liked it!

patagoniabarsoap

Bar Soap: Ayres also sent me a bar of Patagonia soap, and I got one this month in my Birchbox. I’m not really a bar soap person, but I liked the scent so I figured I’d give it a try.  My biggest gripe about bar soaps is I feel like they can sometimes be drying, and sometimes they leave me feeling ‘filmy’ and not clean.  I was pleasantly surprised that this soap did not produce that feeling, but I also couldn’t really smell the scent as strongly as I could when using the Body butter.

TIP: soap is a great way to try new scents because it requires the least amount of commitment– because you rinse it off, and typically only a faint scent is left behind.

Price Point: I think these products are a reasonable price point ($28 for body butter)- a bit of a splurge but not unreasonable.

Conclusions: I’m so glad I won this contest, and this is just another reason why I love Birchbox… it provides exposure to new brands and products that I’ve never tried before.

  • My favorite scent of the three was Patagonia, but I’ll for sure be using all three!
  • I liked the formula of the body butter, I thought it was just the right consistency- not too thick, or too thin (ha, now I sound like the Goldilocks of lotion!)
  • This spring/summer I’m pretty sure I’ll make it a point to check out a few of the other product formats: Shower Cream, Body Lotion, and the Body Polish!

Happy Friday!

Steph

2 thoughts on “Review: Ayres Body Butter & Bar Soap

Leave a Reply

