Pumpkin Cake Recipe

Let me preface this post by saying, I am not good at taking pictures. The pictures in this post totally suck, but I promise the cake does not! In fact, everyone I’ve made it for RAVES about it! This is a delicious pumpkin cake with sweet cream cheese frosting.

I’ve brought it to work twice for baking competitions, and I’ve won 1st place both times! My co-workers have been begging me lately to bake this for them. So I thought I’d surprise them this morning by bringing them in and they were all gone by 10am!

I usually make this in a cake format, but I thought cupcakes might be easier to eat at work so I modified the instructions slightly to make cupcakes; they turned out pretty well! I’ll give you the cooking instructions below for both- they’re basically the same except for the cook times!

Ingredients:

Cake:

  • 3/4 cup butter (1 1/2 sticks) {softened} – I’ve tried to rush before and use unsoftened, or to cheat and soften it in the microwave.. it’s not the same.
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1- 15oz. can pumpkin – I personally like Libby’s
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups flour

Frosting:

  • 1- 8 oz. package of cream cheese  {softened}  — I personally like Philadelphia by Kraft
  • 1/4 cup (half a stick) butter {softened}
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Milk to thin as desired

Cake

Preheat oven to 350

1.) In a large bowl mix wet ingredients: butter, eggs, sugar, and pumpkin until thoroughly blended.

photo3

2.) In a separate bowl mix together dry ingredients with a fork: baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and flour.

3.) Slowly add flour mixture to batter.  I like to add a little, mix, then add more etc.. until all dry ingredients have been blended in

cake

4.) Prepare to bake:

  •  Cake: Lightly grease 13″ x 9″ inch pan, pour batter in evenly
  • Cupcakes: Line cupcakes with foil* cupcake cups, each cup 3/4 the way full  {* I like foil, because I’ve found this batter can make paper cups look kind of greasy} Yields usually about 18

photo 3

5.) Bake

  • Cake: 30-35 minutes usually 33 minutes is the perfect amount of time.  I recommend setting a timer for 30 minutes and checking in the center with a knife/toothpick.  If it doesn’t come out clean, leave in for another few minutes and check again.  They are done when the knife/toothpick comes out clean.
  • Cupcakes: 20-25 minutes usually 23 minutes is the perfect amount of time.  Set your timer for 20 minutes and check them with a knife/toothpick. Just like with the cake, you’ll know they’re done when they come out clean.

photo 4

6.) Allow to cool completely before you frost

Frosting

1.) Blend together all ingredients.  I start with the softened cream cheese, butter , and vanilla.  Then I slowly add in the powdered sugar {slowly is the key, unless you want a mess!} I usually add in milk to thin a tablespoon at a time until the desired thickness is achieved.

photo

2.) Once your cake/cupcakes have cooled, frost them!

3.) Since it’s got cream cheese, I refrigerate until I’m ready to serve.

Then.. Enjoy!

I don’t have a finished product photo because they got gobbled up too quickly. Next time, I’ll be sure to snap one!

Steph

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cake Recipe

Leave a Reply

