30 Things I’m thankful for – week 2

This November, I wanted to challenge myself to post something each day that I am thankful for. This is part 2 of a 5 part series, scroll to the bottom for links to the other weeks.

November 2013

4. I am thankful for the men and women who have served our country, those who continue to serve our country, and those who paid the ultimate price to protect our country and freedoms. I am also thankful for their families, as they are also making sacrifices. We should all be thankful for these men and women today, and every day and pray for their safe return home.

5. I am thankful for my mom. There are many things she does that I am thankful for, and we are in many ways very similar. My mom is very driven, and has a strong work ethic, she is always working to improve herself professionally- she has certainly set the bar high. She also manages to keep things running at home, which is something that I took for granted a lot when I lived at home. Although I may not always want her advice, generally her advice is pretty good. I’m also thankful that we’ve been getting closer in recent years.

6. I’m thankful for the DVR, without it I’d probably never get to see my favorite shows. Plus, who doesn’t love skipping commercials. In fact, I’m catching up on Grey’s now!

7. This probably sounds weird, but I’m thankful for disappointments. Without disappointments and let-downs it’s hard to really appreciate the good things in life. I’ve had my fair share of disappointments in the past few years, one major one being the fact that after graduation I was unable to secure a position teaching history (what I had majored in.) At the time, it really sucked. It was such a blow to my self-esteem, I thought I had done everything right and I couldn’t understand why schools wouldn’t even want to interview me. I filled out what seemed like hundreds of applications, and never even got a call to interview. It was totally frustrating, and I was in a really bad place. Luckily, I was able to find a job doing something else and while it wasn’t perfect at first I’ve come to find out that business is a much better fit for my skill set. Without the disappointment of the whole teaching fiasco, I would have never come to this realization. I’m sure we’ve all heard the cheesy saying “everything happens for a reason” I’ve recently really started believing this to be true.

8. I’m thankful for my friends! They are all so unique, and I appreciate each one in their own unique way.

9. I am thankful to always know where my next meal is coming from. Millions of Americans struggle with hunger on a daily basis, in fact 1 in 6 Americans does not have access to enough food. According to the USDA 15 million children are living in ‘food insecure’ homes. This is so sad, and honestly not something I can relate to, I can’t ever remember a time where I wouldn’t have been able to eat if I was hungry.

10. On this cold day in Chicago where it’s snowing (UGH!) I am thankful for the different seasons. My favorite season is summer. Fall, spring, and winter are just okay, but I do think they help me to appreciate summer when it finally arrives.

Steph

Week 1: Nov 1- 3

Week 2: Nov 4- 10

Week 3: Nov 11- 17

Week 4: Nov 18- 24

Week 5: Nov 25-30

One thought on “30 Things I’m thankful for – week 2

  1. Pingback: 30 Things I’m thankful for – week 1 | Steph's Spot

Leave a Reply

