Super Simple Spaghetti Squash

I recently had the chance to try Spaghetti Squash for the first time at Girl and the Goat and my oh my goodness was it delicious! I knew I had to make it for myself. I searched the internet and Pinterest, and found that there are many, many ways to prepare spaghetti squash. Here’s how I made it the other night:

20131026-105252.jpg

Preheat your oven to 375

Step One: Wash the squash and cut lengthwise.

20131026-105348.jpg

Once I got it cut in half (which was by far the hardest part of preparing the squash) I was surprised to see how much the insides reminded me of a pumpkin!

20131026-105445.jpg

Step Two: Scoop out the seeds & strings with a big spoon (just like carving a pumpkin!)

20131026-105852.jpg

Step Three: Take 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil and 1/2 a teaspoon of minced garlic. I mixed them together and brushed onto the insides of the squash. Then  season lightly with salt and pepper.  I also added a sprinkle of Italian Seasoning I had to give it a bit more flavor!

20131026-111923.jpg

Step Four: Place the halves cut side down in the baking dish. Then pour 1/2 a cup of water into the dish and placed in the oven for 45 minutes.

Step Five: Once the timer went off I removed squash from the oven and let it cool off for a few minutes. Then I flipped the squash over so the cut side was up and fluffed out the flesh.  By fluffing the flesh, basically I raked a fork over the insides.  It’s very easy, you’ll know you are doing it right because it really does look like spaghetti!

20131026-112358.jpg

I threw in a handful of sun dried tomatoes and part skim mozzarella cheese! It was a great low carb alternative to pasta. Ill definitely make it again, and next time I think I’ll try tossing with red sauce like I would regular pasta!  Have you tried spaghetti squash? what did you think?

 

Steph

2 thoughts on “Super Simple Spaghetti Squash

Leave a Reply

