Five on Friday – 9.27.13

I’m linking up today with Darci, April, Christina and Natasha for Five on Friday..

5onFridayLogo-Final-forblogsidemenu_edited-1_zps7fcf6068

{ one } Fall TV

I am so glad that Fall TV is starting back up! I was getting bored with my summer DVR list..  Don’t get me wrong, I love the Real Housewives, but I usually like shows that involve interesting plots not just mindless drama.  Here are a few of the shows I’m most excited to get watching this fall…

Criminal Minds (CBS),   Greys Anatomy (ABC),   Scandal (ABC),   and The Walking Dead (AMC).

PicMonkey Collage

My friends are obsessed with Homeland, so I might try and get up to speed on that show.  Also, everyone seems to talk about Downton Abbey so I think I’ll give that one a whirl as well.  Anyone else excited for fall TV? Any good recommendations?

 

{ two } Trying New Recipes

Last night I made Skinnytaste’s Cheesy Jalapeño Popper Baked Stuffed Chicken.. it was SO good and perfect for fall!  I love giving new recipes a try, especially when they’re as big of a hit as this one was.  We like spicy food, so I left the seeds in the jalapeños but I think you could make this a bit milder by removing them. It was so cheesy and gooey! Ahh… I wish I made enough for leftovers!  Anyway, if you’re looking for a  new chicken recipe and you don’t mind a little heat I highly recommend giving it a try!

Photo by Skinnytaste

Photo by Skinnytaste

{ three } Christmas Cards

Am I the only crazy lady who already started looking at ordering Christmas cards for this year?  I’m hoping I can convince one of my friends to snap a few pictures of G and I once the leaves turn so we have a nice photo to use. If not, we could use one of the shots of our engagement from Mexico, but I feel like everyone’s seen those, so I’d prefer to do something new.   I’ve used a few different companies in the past to order our Christmas cards and I’m not sure who I’ll go with this year.

One thing about shopping for Christmas cards that kind of annoys me, there isn’t a whole lot of options geared towards people in our situation (living together, not married yet, no kids)  I feel like all of the cute options are for kids, or families.  I wish they made some specifically for newly engaged couples because it would be nice to send something that commemorates this short stage in our lives.

 

{ four }  Weddings

So many of our friends are getting married right now! It’s so fun to be able to attend their weddings and celebrate!  Last weekend one of my friends got married- G and I went and had a great time!

G & I

G & I

They got married locally at a golf course, and I was happy to be able to help setup the day of so she didn’t have to worry about it.  It was a good sneak peek of what’s to come! It also made me realize, that I really need to find someone to help me the day of to make sure all of the details are taken care of.   I’m a serial over committer, I seem to always say ‘yes!’ or ‘I’ll do it’..  I always end up pulling what I commit to off, but it stresses me out majorly in the process.  I’m sure I will have enough to worry about (looking good!) the day of and I just do not want / need that stress in my life!

Then next weekend, one of my college friends is getting married in Central Illinois.  I’m so looking forward to seeing him, meeting his bride and catching up with some college friends!  As an added bonus, it should be a beautiful time of year for a drive- with the leaves starting to turn.

 

{ five } The Weekend

I’m so thankful it’s Friday!  This week has been… well long.

Tonight I’m meeting some friends in the city for dinner.  I think we’re going to give Stephanie Izard’s restaurant Girl and the Goat a try.  I’ve wanted to give it a try for awhile- especially considering how everyone seems to rave about it!

Tomorrow, I’m babysitting two of my favorite kiddos which is always a great time.  Then Sunday I’m planning to watch the Bears game in the afternoon, then I have plans to grab dinner and catch up with another friend whom I haven’t seen for awhile since we’ve both been so busy!  Should be a fun fall weekend—which is just what I need!

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Steph

4 thoughts on “Five on Friday – 9.27.13

  1. I have been wanting to try that chicken for a while now! I am going to have to try to make it this week now that I know it is good. Thanks!

    Also, I am loving your blog!

  2. Made it without bacon or lime (because I had everything already at home but those things) and it was pretty good. I might try again with everything because i bet it is even better.

    • You couldn’t really taste either- so I’m not sure you missed anything! One thing I did do differently that I forgot to mention: after I cooked the bacon I tried to get as much grease out of the pan as I could and I threw in the chopped jalapenos to help them soften up a bit. Did you find that not doing that, they were crunchy after baking?

Leave a Reply

