Color Combos I Love: Part Two {Black, White, and Bling}

This is the second of four color combos I love. Today I’m going for a classic, modern, and luxurious city wedding. I’m envisioning a color palette of black and white, with accents that sparkle!

When I think of classy city wedding venue, the Four Seasons New York – Pool Room instantly comes to mind. It’s a beautiful room for a wedding, and I love the pool in the center, especially when the ledge is filled with glowing candles.

Four Seasons Pool Room

I really like the use of rectangular tables, I think it can be quite striking. However, I’d switch out the black chairs pictured above with some black chivari chairs. In using rectangular tables, I think it’s important to use low centerpieces to keep conversation easy. I really like the use of candles and roses below.

Table Floral

Now that we’ve got the venue details hammered out, I think it’s important to ensure the invitation matches. An invitation is the guests first impression of your wedding, and I really believe it’s important to remain consistent. Below I’m highlighting two invitations I feel capture this wedding’s vibe. The first is Orchestra by Minted I really like the font on this invitation- it’s romantic and classy.

Orchestra Wedding Invitations

The second invitation I like, is Elegant Vows by Wedding Paper Divas I think this invitation is a bit more formal than the other option. Both would be an excellent invitation choice.

Elegant Vows Black

For the bridesmaids, I’ve selected three dresses from JCrew that I really like. All three are black, but don’t be fooled, they are all unique. The first dress is the Sara dress in lace. I love the lace fabric of this dress, and think it would be totally appropriate for a winter wedding.

Sara dress in lace

The second bridesmaid dress I like is the Maren dress in Cotton Cady I particularly like the neckline of this dress. I think this dress might be difficult for a busty bridesmaid, so that might be something to keep in mind. It’s certainly one that I’d like to see on.

Maren Dress in Cotton Cady

The third dress is the Mollie dress in Cotton Cady. This is the dress I’d most like to wear if I was a bridesmaid I think it also has a lot of wear again potential. The fabric type would make it appropriate for a wedding nearly any season.

Mollie Dress in Cotton Cady

I was torn on the bridesmaid shoes, I went back and forth between something nude and something black. Both of these shoe options are by LK Bennett. The first is the Sledge Patent Leather Heel . You might recognize this heel, because it’s one that Kate Middleton has worn time and time again.

Sledge Patent Leather Heel

The second is a strappy black sandal that I think would compliment any of the dresses nicely. Since it’s open toe, it would be totally appropriate to take your bridesmaids for manicures and pedicures before the wedding- I’m sure they’d appreciate the nice gesture!

Sandy Strappy

Something new I’ve been seeing pop up on the internet is having bridesmaids carry a statement clutch instead of flowers. I’ve picked two that I think could make a statement. The first is this Feather Clutch by Nina my ONLY hesitation is that it appears to be bright white. I’d prefer it to be off white, as I think it would be a bit less harsh of a contrast against their black dresses.

feather clutch

The second option is this Peral Clutch I think it’s really classy and would look nice as the bridesmaids walk down the aisle.

pearl clutch

I decided to stick with JCrew for the bride’s dress. I really like the Fleur Gown . It has a modern styling, I’m loving the sweetheart neckline, and it looks like it has pockets! What’s not to love?!?

Fleur Gown

I’d have the bride’s hair in a low updo, with a pretty embellishment- like the below.
low updo

Even though the bridesmaids are carrying clutches, I still think the bride should carry flowers. I’ve selected this pretty off white bouquet with an embellishment which I feel compliments our vibe and color scheme nicely.

bouquet

There are two final details for this wedding I’m particularly excited about. I love this cake, it goes perfectly with our venue and color scheme. Even the cake has an embellishment, which helps to further tie in our theme.

cake

Personally, I feel consumable favors are the way to go if you want to give something that will be used. I originally thought a nice favor would be a personalized bottle of wine, but then I came across these personalized mini bottles of champagne and I knew this had to be it. Champagne is always in style, and this ties in with our theme perfectly.

favor

Steph

Color Combos I love:

Part One: {Pink, Gold and Coral}

Part Two: {Black, White and Bling}

Part Three: {Beachy Blues}

Part Four

6 thoughts on “Color Combos I Love: Part Two {Black, White, and Bling}

  1. Wasn’t the NYC Four Seasons where Bethenny got married? I’m SO obsessed with your color combo posts! Obviously I love the LK Bennetts and I am intrigued by the clutch versus bouquet concept. It’s going to be tough for you and Greg to choose a color combination since you clearly have an expertise for creating themes!

    • Yes, she was! If I recall correctly, the ceremony was held atop the pool in the center of the room.
      I’ve already have color combo decided, but it is going to be hard to do a post without giving away everything I’m planning to do for our wedding!

  2. Pingback: Color Combos I Love: Part Three {Beachy Blues} | Steph's Spot

  3. Pingback: Color Combos I Love: Part One {Pink, Gold, & Coral} | Steph's Spot

  4. Pingback: Top 2013 Posts | Steph's Spot

  5. Pingback: Color Combos I Love: Part Four {Our Wedding Colors} | Steph's Spot

Leave a Reply

