Steph’s top 5 Songs of Summer 2013

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again… WHERE has this summer gone? How is it already the middle of August?   Since I never want summer to end, I thought it would be a perfect time to share my top five favorite songs from this summer.  (I’ll probably be jamming to these in December, when it’s snowing and I’m still in denial that summer is over.) 

5. Cruise– Florida Georgia Line featuring Nelly

This song was one I jammed to a lot in early summer. I’m not usually a big country fan, so you might consider this song an anomaly on my list—but it definitely got its share of playtime on the Top 40 stations here in Chiccagoland.  In July, I went to a concert with my Aunt & Uncle in Cleveland called Roverfest and Nelly was one of the headliners.  It was cool to hear him do his parts of this song, and it was definitely a hit with the crowd. 

4. Cups (Pitch Perfect’s “When I’m gone”) – Anna Kendrick

I can remember where I was the first time I heard this song, in my friends new condo downtown.  We were hanging out checking out the killer view, and then this song came on.  It’s a catchy tune; I can’t help but sing along when it comes on. 

3. Safe and Sound– Capital Cities

Admittedly, I had never heard of Capital Cities before Safe and Sound, but I think it’s got a good beat.  I have absolutely ZERO musical ability or knowledge, so I’m not even going to pretend like I know what instrument is playing in the background (maybe it’s a trumpet?) but I really like it.

2. Blurred Lines– Robin Thicke Featuring T.I & Pharell

I love this song. I’m sure when I hear it in a few years it will remind me of this summer.  Now that I think about it, the first time I remember hearing the song was when we were in Cozumel.  I was flipping channels, while G was complaining about his sunburn and the music video was on.  In the three months or so since then I’m sure we’ve all heard the song a couple hundred times, seeing as it’s always on the radio. 

Drumroll please, it’s time for my #1 favorite song of summer…

  1. Get Lucky – Daft Punk featuring Pharrell Williams

I know I said I love Blurred Lines (and I do) but I love this song MORE.  It’s so chill. I could listen to it on repeat all day. My favorite time to listen to this song is when I’m driving at night, with the windows down, and my music turned way up. 

 

I’d love to know what your top 5 songs of this summer are; feel free to share in the comment section.

3 thoughts on “Steph’s top 5 Songs of Summer 2013

  1. Pingback: Steph’s Top Spring 2014 Songs | Steph's Spot

  2. Pingback: Nerdy Me Tag | Steph's Spot

Leave a Reply

